Last Updated on February 15, 2024 by Nasir Hanif

Sometimes, the only solution for a peaceful life is to block a number. Thankfully, this is relatively easy to do. However, you might still want to see their messages after blocking. Our guide will tell you how to see messages from blocked numbers on iPhone: what you can and can’t see if you block a number. You can also use Spynger for iPhone to reveal more hidden features! 

How to View Blocked Messages on iPhone 

If you want to know how to see messages from blocked numbers on iPhone, there are a few considerations and things you can try. Ultimately, though, you won’t be able to see new messages or messages they’ve sent you during a period of blocking. 

View Blocked Messages With iCloud Backup 

For anyone keen to read messages from people you’ve blocked, there is a way how to view blocked messages on iPhone through iCloud. However, you wouldn’t be able to see anything they’ve sent or tried to send since you blocked them. That said, it can still be useful as a tool to retrieve older messages. Here are the steps you need to take: 

  1. Go to iCloud. 
  1. Log in with your Apple ID. 
  1. Find the test messages you want to retrieve. 
  1. Go to iCloud settings on your iPhone. 
  1. Turn off Messages backup. 
  1. You’ll see a message requesting you download the messages locally. 
  1. You can then click to disable and download if you want to restore anything. 

Recover Messages Using iTunes Backup 

So, is there a way to see blocked messages on iPhone from iTunes? This depends. If you sync iTunes with your iPhone, you’ll be able to see deleted messages from a blocked number. Again, these will only be the ones that were on your phone and sent prior to the blocking of the number. Here are the steps to follow: 

  1. Connect your iPhone to your PC. Ensure iTunes is installed. 
  1. Open iTunes on the PC, then click the device. 
  1. In the backup area, choose “Restore Backup.” 
  1. Then, choose the most recent entry and click “Restore” to finish. 

Blocked Messages Folder 

Can I see blocked messages on iPhone unknown senders? Yes. Ever since iOS 16.5 came about, whenever a message was sent from a blocked number (along with spammers and promotional messages), it was delivered to a section of “Unknown Senders.” Previous versions didn’t store messages in this way. To find them, follow these steps: 

  1. Open your iMessage app. 
  1. Click “Filters” in the top left-hand corner. 
  1. Select “Unknown Sender.” 
  1. You’ll see all blocked messages in this folder. 

Is There Any Other Way to See Blocked Messages on Your iPhone? 

If you’re looking for other ways, there are also a couple more you can try. These methods use the Messages app and FaceTime. Here’s what you need to know. 

See Blocked Numbers on iPhone in the Messages App 

Can you see blocked messages on iPhone in the app? Yes, you can. If you’ve previously blocked a number and now want to unblock it, you can do so quite easily. This will allow you to see the messages in the normal folder instead of in “Unknown Senders.” 

Firstly, find the number you want to unblock. Then, go to “Settings” and choose “Phone.” In the next menu, select “Call Blocking and Identification.” Here, you will now see any contacts that are blocked. You can then select them to unblock them and begin receiving their messages again. Their messages will then be in the normal folder rather than the one for unknown senders. 

How Facetime Can Help 

When you’ve blocked contacts on FaceTime, you can still find them in the settings menu. When you find FaceTime in settings, scroll to find “Blocked Contacts.” Here, you’ll see a list of contacts you’ve blocked. You can then click ‘edit’ to unblock a contact. Then, you’ll see blocked messages on iPhone FaceTime. 

Will I See a Message if I Unblock a Person? 

When you unblock someone, you’ll start seeing their messages come through again. However, any messages sent during the period of blocking generally won’t come through, so don’t worry, you won’t be bombarded with hundreds of text messages that were previously undelivered! 

Final Thoughts 

Blocking someone is a difficult but often necessary act, but it can come with a lot of questions. A good way to experiment with this is to block someone you know (with their agreement) and try seeing what you can see while they’re blocked when you unblock them afterward. That way, you’ll know how things work before you block or unblock someone for real.